The ESCAP Subregional Office for the Pacific - formerly known as ESCAP Pacific Operations Centre (EPOC) - was established in 1984 in Port Vila by combining the Pacific Liaison Office's operations based in Nauru and the United Nations Development Advisory Team based in Fiji. The office was relocated to Suva in 2005 to enable more effective collaboration with regional partners.

The Office’s guiding mission is to support Pacific island developing countries in their efforts to attain the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and implement the Small Island Developing States Accelerated Modalities of Action (S.A.M.O.A. Pathway).

The ESCAP Subregional Office for the Pacific covers Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia (Federated States of), Nauru, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu, as well as American Samoa, the Cook Islands, French Polynesia, Guam, New Caledonia, Niue and the Northern Mariana Islands as associate members.

Priority concerns of Pacific countries are brought to the Commission's attention through The Special Body on Least Developed, Landlocked Developing and Pacific Island Developing Countries. Issues considered at recent Special Body sessions include employment, sustainable development, urban management and tourism.

It focuses on the following priority areas, as mandated by the ESCAP Commission:

  • National Planning and Policy Coherence
  • 2030 Agenda and SAMOA Pathway
  • Social Inclusion and Equality
  • Climate Action and Resources Management
  • Data and Statistics
SRO Pacific Icon
Subregional Office for the Pacific Kadavu House, Level 5
414 Victoria Parade
Suva , Fiji
+679 331-9669 [email protected]