The subregional office for North and Central Asia, based in Almaty, Kazakhstan, covers nine members, namely Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan. All of these countries are economies in transition and seven are landlocked. Afghanistan participates in the work of the subregional office as a member of the United Nations Special Programme for the Economies of Central Asia (SPECA).


The programme of work focused by the subregional office covers analytical and normative work, policy advisory services, as well as capacity building activities. The work of the subregional office is expected to contribute to strengthened regional cooperation and integration for sustainable development, in line with the subregional priorities of North and Central Asia, including sustainable connectivity, economic transformation, social inclusion and resilience, and through follow-up and review of the 2030 Agenda.

Subregional Office for North and Central Asia 303 Bayzakov Street, Block A,
UN Building
Almaty 050040, Kazakhstan
+7 727 338 4417 [email protected]