Skip to main content

ESCAP Members and Associate Members

Since its founding in 1947 the membership of the Economic and Social Commission has grown to 53 members and 9 associate members.


Associate Members*


* Not a member of the United Nations
** Least Developed Country
*** Continuation of membership of former Union of Soviet Socialist Republics
**** Change of name from Hong Kong to Hong Kong, China (1 July 1997)
***** Change of name to Macau, China (20 December 1999) and further changed to Macao, China (4 February 2000)